Age-standardised disability-adjusted life year...

Image via Wikipedia

http://www.podiatrychannel.com/diabetes/depression-and-diabetes-link.shtml

READING THIS ARTICLE COMES AT NO SURPRISE. PEOPLE THAT LIVE WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS ESPECIALLY DIABETES AND HYPERTENSION ARE DEPRESSED. IN SOME CASES, SPEAKING FROM PERSONAL EXPERIENCES, MY OWN, MY MOTHER PROBABLY WAS DEPRESSED LONG BEFORE SHE DEVELOPED DIABETES. I AM NOW SUFFERING FROM POST TRAUMATIC STRESS DISORDER AND FIRMLY BELIEVED THAT THE WOMEN IN OUR FAMILY WERE PREDISPOSED FOR DEPRESSION. MOST OF THEM DEVELOPED ADDICTIONS TO FOOD, ALCOHOL, AND DRUGS. IN THE AFRICAN AMERICAN COMMUNITY, MENTAL HEALTH INTERVENTIONS ARE FROWNED UPON AS WE DONT WANT TO IDENTIFIED AS BEING “CRAZY OR SICK IN THE HEAD”. WE RELY ON PRAYER, ATTENDING CHURCH, IN RARE CASES SHARING WITH A CLOSE CONFIDANTE. HOWEVER IN MOST CASES WE SUFFER IN SILENCE. I HAVE ALWAYS BELIEVED IN THE BENEFITS OF USING A THERAPIST. ITS PROBABLY THE MAIN REASON I DECIDED TO BECOME A SOCIAL WORKER. MY JOB TO EDUCATE OUR PEOPLE IT IS NECESSARY TO CARE FOR YOUR MENTAL HEATH. FURTHER POVERTY IS ANOTHER STRESSOR. MY MOTHER WAS MARRIED HOWEVER SHE ALWAYS  LAMENTED THAT MY FATHER DID NOT GIVE HER MONEY. HE WAS A “GOOD PROVIDER” IN HER TERMS BECAUSE HE HOUSED US, FEED US, AND PROVIDED FOR OUR BASIC NEEDS. ON THE OTHER HAND, MY MOTHER HAD TO WORK A SECOND JOB TO PROVIDE ME WITH THE THINGS I NEEDED, IE, BEAUTY SHOP, CLOTHES, SHOES, WHICH IS WHY I AM THE INDEPENDENT WOMAN I AM TODAY. IT IS SUCH A SHAME THAT WE ARE STILL SUFFERING. ALL OF MY OLDER RELATIVES ARE DECEASED. THEY YOUNGER GENERATION IS FOLLOWING IN THEIR FOOTSTEPS. I AM WORKING DILIGENTLY TO PROVIDE MY FAMILY WITH OUR FAMILY MEDICAL HISTORY. MY SON AND DAUGHTER BOTH ADULTS UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF THERAPY. I AM SADDENED BY THIS ARTICLE. I FEEL SO HELPLESS AS I WISH TO STOP THIS CYCLE OF DISEASE IN THE LOW INCOME COMMUNITIES. THEY NEED TO BE EDUCATED ON THE IMPORTANT OF EXERCISE, TALKING ABOUT THEIR PROBLEMS WITH SOMEONE OTHER THAN JESUS. I AM A SPIRTUAL  PERSON AN I TALK TO GOD ON A REGULAR BASIS. HE IS THE ONE THAT DIRECTS ME WHEN IT IS TIME TO SEEK HELP…….

OUR NON PROFIT IS DEDICATED TO ELIMINATING HEALTH CARE DISPARITIES. WE MUST STOP THIS VICIOUS CIRCLE!!!!

