Overview of the most significant possible symp...

Image via Wikipedia

IMAGINE BEING POOR, HOMELESS, AND DIABETIC.  AS A EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ON NEW IMPRESSION, THE MAJORITY OF THE HOMELESS INDIVIDUALS WE SERVED HAD DUAL DIAGNOSIS.  THEY ALL SUFFERED FROM DEPRESSION, ANXIETY, SOME HAD CHRONIC ILLNESSES SUCH AS DIABETES AND SEVERE EMOTIONAL DISORDERS AS WELL.  THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM IN LOS ANGELES COUNTY.  THERE ARE AGENCIES THAT ARE DESIGNED TO WORK WITH THIS POPULATION HOWEVER SIMPLY NOT ENOUGH.  IN 2009 WE OPENED OUR FIRST TRANSITIONAL HOUSE, HOWEVER DUE TO LACK OF FUNDS WE WERE FORCED TO CLOSE OUR DOORS.   TODAY WE ARE ADOCATES AND OUR GOAL IS TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC REGARDING THIS SERIOUS SOCIAL ISSUE, BEING HOMELESS AND ILL.  WE ARE A GRASS ROOTS AGENCY HOWEVER WE HAVE THE COMMITTMENT AND THE PASSION TO EFFECT SOCIAL JUSTICE IN THE AREA OF DIABETES AWARENESS.  WHEN I STARTED THIS VENTURE, I HAVE NO IDEA THE MAGNITUDE OF THE PROBLEM. I GREW UP WITH DIABETES AS MY MOTHER WAS DIAGNOSED LATE IN LIFE.   I WATCHED HER STRUGGLED WITH HER WEIGHT MOST OF HER LIFE.  SHE TOOK A CAVALIER APPROACH TO HER ILLNESS, AS SHE USED TO TELL ME “WE ALL HAVE TO DIE WITH SOMETHING”.  SHE JUST DIDNT REALIZE WHAT SHE WAS SAVING, THIS DISEASE  WAS A SLOW DEATH FOR MY MOTHER. THE SADNESS, SHE WAS NEVER TREATED FOR DEPRESSION.  I RETURNED TO SCHOOL AFTER REARING MY CHILDREN TO HELP OTHERS THAT ARE UNDERREPRESENTED.  MY GOAL WAS TO BECOME A MEDICAL SOCIAL WORKER.  IN 1996, I EARNED MY MASTER’S DEGREE FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA.  I ENDED UP WORKING FOR LOS ANGELES COUNTY AS AN ADOPTIONS SOCIAL WORKER.   I WAS LATER PROMOTED TO A SUPERVISOR AND MY LIFE HAS NEVER BEEN THE SAME.  I LEFT BECAUSE OF A HOSTILE WORK ENVIRONMENT, I DID NOT WANT TO END UP  LIKE MY MOM.  I SUFFERED A TRAUMATIC INJURY ON THE JOB. IT(THE JOB) ALMOST DESTROYED ME HOWEVER THANKS TO GOD, MY THERAPIST, AND SUPPORTIVE FAMILY AND FRIENDS, I AM HEALING.  PLEASE JOIN ME AS WE TRY TO EDUCATE THE COMMUNITY.  IF YOU ARE ABLE TO SEND A DONATION WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF ESTABLISHING PAY PAL.  WE ARE A 501 C 3 AGENCY. ALL DONATIONS ARE TAX DEDUCTIBLE.  MOST OF ALL PRAY FOR ME AS I LEAD THIS AGENCY.  THIS IS A DAUNTING TASK, HOWEVER, I THIS IS A LABOR OF LOVE FOR MY MOTHER. MRS. OLA M. JOHNSON. THE BEST MOTHER IN THE WORLD.

