Paul Gauguin, The Loss of Virginity

Image via Wikipedia

I have to forgive myself for loving the wrong people and allowing them to place negative images in my head. For far too long, I have been so hard on myself for being so sensitive, Looking for love in all the wrong places. Most of all I need to forgive myself for losing my virginity at the age of 16. It is time for forgive myself. Okay, I will be 60 next year. The shame of it all, is that I did not even know what it meant to be a virgin. The boy was sure knew that I had never had sex. I thought because of kissing and heavy petting that I was no longer a virgin. Poor me. I am sorry Fred that when you came into my life I had to disclose that I had lost my virginity to someone else. I don’t think he has ever forgiven me.

