Mu Sochua Receives Eleanor Roosevelt Award

Image by US Mission Geneva via Flickr

When you have decided what you believe, what you feel must be done, have the courage to stand alone and be counted.   Eleanor Roosevelt

To stand alone is admirable.     Being the advocate, taking a stand, and holding one’s ground is a good thing.   I just wish that someone would take a stand for me and allow me to rest.   It is amazing how many people have simply walked out of my life and never looked back.   Maybe I offended them is some way.  If so, that was not my intent.  Taking a stand comes with risk such as being misunderstood.  I suppose, taking a stand, also has a tendency to alienate and intimidate.  In retrospect, if taking a stand has caused  people to walk away I accept their decision.  Moreover, I respect their decision.   I am learning much about myself as I approach my 60th birthday.  I am truly excited to embark on this second phase of my life.  I am hopeful that God will send me a strong-minded as well as strong-willed companion.  I would love to have someone rescue me for a change.  I  typically find myself extending  the olive branch when there has been a misunderstanding of some sort.  I am usually the peace maker and the mediator.   Life is about taking risks.  Taking a stand for whatever reason is also a risk.   My mother used to say, “I you don’t stand for something, you will fall for anything”.  Well, mama, I am still standing!

